top of page

Everything You Need to Know About the Masterpiece that is JJ Project's Verse 2 Album

by: Alyss Caridad F. Monton


JYP Entertainment, one of Korea's most powerful music agencies, unveiled a new duo back in 2012. With their debut single, Bounce, which was all high energy, hip-hop, and rock, the brilliant JJ Project gained notoriety, but two years later, they were merged into GOT7. JJ Project has emerged with a completely new sound five years after their first single, with the release of a new album.

 

JJ Project's Bounce, 2012
GOT7's 7for7, 2017
 

JB (Lim Jaebeom) and Jinyoung (Park Jinyoung) released their first EP as JJ Project, Verse #2, on July 31, 2017, led by the soulful track, Tomorrow, Today.

 

JJ Project's Verse 2, 2017
 

The thoughtful K-pop track, which departs from their young debut sound and the dance R&B components preferred by GOT7 hits of late, offers a peaceful, pop-rock alternative, with similarly laid-back approaches prevalent throughout the rest of the EP.


"Tomorrow, Today" merges JB's silky tone with Jinyoung's lyrical one, with a delicate, percussive beat and lovely harmonies. While the mature, more intimate sound approach is a welcome change of pace for the two men who have spent the last five years of their careers balancing each other's vocals in JJ Project and as two of GOT7's lead vocalists, it's a perfect second wind for them.

The song's lyrics are also more personal than their past lyrics, emphasizing the difficulties of making future decisions while being attached to the present, which is fitting for people entering adulthood and attempting to make their way in the world. They express the very real worries that people have while embarking on new journeys. The chorus of Tomorrow, Today goes:

 

"Again today, there are questions I don’t know

I’m trying to answer but I’m not confident

Is it this way or that way?

I’m afraid of my decision

With an anxious heart

I’m standing in front of the next question

Between paths that I’ve never gone on before

How can I find my way?

I’m afraid, day by day"

 

It hits you, doesn’t it?


The music video for the song depicts the two traveling in an old vehicle and bonding through contemplation in an ambient, vibrantly colored coming-of-age scenario. Jinyoung is seen reading J.D. Salinger's The Catcher In The Rye while JB is reading Paulo Coelho's Veronika Decides to Die, yet the books are switched at the end of the short film. The feel of the music video is like facing a crossroad, wondering which way is the right path to take. Like going on a trip with your friends after graduation and not knowing what comes next.


And Tomorrow, Today isn’t the only song in this album that can make you feel that way. Take Icarus, for example:

 

"Without fail, I’m dreaming again today

As if I’m free like I’m flying in the sky

As if I can reach if I hold out my hand

I’ll flap my wings harder, even if I’m scared

Never, I can’t give up

I can’t fall down

For my dreams, I’ll only look at one place

I can’t give up

I can’t fall down

Even if my body breaks down

Every time I get scared

For the people who believe in me

I will prove it

Every time I wanna close my eyes

I’ll picture myself standing at the finish line."

 

And On&On:

 

"I wanna be the one and only What is the standard of success? My end is in a different place babe I’m a bit scared but I can do it

I don’t know If the path I’m on is the right one I’ll find everything out at the end of it When you get used to the dark, You can start to see the path There’s no answer but why are you making me Look in the same place?

On & on life goes on Wherever I want to go There’s no decided path I’ll follow my heart, yeah"

 

Feeling empowered yet?


This kind of vibe covers the entire album. Each song fits into the theme of maturing and getting to know and believing in oneself. Verse 2 is a true masterpiece because they delivered their message well and artistically. The lyrics of the songs are all about how they’re afraid of the future, how they feel so pressured to be perfect because it’s what everyone expects of them. But, when you listen to the songs, they’re soothing. It’s almost like they’re saying that they understand everyone who’s going through the same thing while comforting them, trying to ease off their worries with their melodies.

So, to those who are trying so hard to keep everything in their lives together, to those who feel so unsure of themselves, to those who are growing up, let JJP’s Verse 2 album relax you for a minute and remind you that it’s okay to be confused and sad sometimes, you’re doing so well handling it right now and everything will work out the way it should. You got this!


 
 





54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page